Central Campus Deacon Nomination

It’s time once again, as a church family, to work through our annual deacon selection process. Our deacons have done a great job in the previous year, and we appreciate all their hard work. This year we will be nominating “up to” 25 men at the Central Campus. We will not be electing deacons for our Paragould Campus at this time.
Below is a link to the nomination form of men who are 25 years of age and older and have been a member of Central Baptist Church for at least one year and primarily attend the Central Campus. One of the most important decisions we make as a church is the selection of our deacons. Deacon nomination is not a popularity contest. Nominate only men who are: 1) actively serving in one of Central Baptist’s ministries, 2) actively attending corporate worship, 3) actively involved in a Life Group, and 4) who meet the qualifications as described in the following passages:
1. The Qualifications of Deacons  1 Tim. 3:8-13 Deacons likewise must be men of dignity, not double-tongued, or addicted to much wine or fond of sordid gain, [9] but holding to the mystery of the faith with a clear conscience. [10] These men must also first be tested; then let them serve as deacons if they are beyond reproach. [11] Women must likewise be dignified, not malicious gossips, but temperate, faithful in all things. [12] Deacons must be husbands of only one wife, and good managers of their children and their own households. [13] For those who have served well as deacons obtain for themselves a high standing and great confidence in the faith that is in Christ Jesus. NASB
2. The Role of Deacons  Acts6:1-6 Now at this time while the disciples were increasing in number, a complaint arose on the part of the Hellenistic Jews against the native Hebrews, because their widows were being overlooked in the daily serving of food. [2] So the twelve summoned the congregation of the disciples and said, "It is not desirable for us to neglect the word of God in order to serve tables. [3] "Therefore, brethren, select from among you seven men of good reputation, full of the Spirit and of wisdom, whom we may put in charge of this task. [4] "But we will devote ourselves to prayer and to the ministry of the word." [5] The statement found approval with the whole congregation; and they chose Stephen, a man full of faith and of the Holy Spirit, and Philip, Prochorus, Nicanor, Timon, Parmenas and Nicolas, a proselyte from Antioch. [6] And these they brought before the apostles; and after praying, they laid their hands on them. NASB
As you can see, the qualifications for a deacon are very similar to that of a pastor; but the role of a deacon is completely different. The word deacon means servant. A deacon is to serve in fulfilling the ministry of the church. Please pray and meditate upon the above scripture passages. Ask God to bring to your mind men who are qualified and have a servant heart. You may nominate “up to,” but not more than 25 men to serve at the Central Campus. Please submit your nomination form by September 24th.  This is a nomination only. In order for your nomination form to be valid, you will also be asked to provide your name, email address, and mobile number for membership confirmation. Each man who is nominated will have the option to accept or decline the deacon nomination. If he accepts the nomination and meets the qualifications of scripture, his name will be placed on the ballot for the Deacon Election on October 31st.

The following men are either actively serving as deacon now or are sitting out the two-year inactive rotation and are not eligible to be elected:

Riley Adams
Jerry Allison
Fred Argo
James Barham
Keith Blackman
Jim Brewer
 Joe Buttgen
 Joey Caang
George Carter
Joe Carter
Ronnie Chambers
Harold A. Clark
Tyler Coleman
 Jeremy Colton
Jeff Cooper
Greg Crabtree

Ty Damron
Brandon Decker
Jim Edwards
Steve Emerson
Wade Gay
 Ron George
Bob Griffin
Joe Hamilton
Casey Harris
Robert Hendrix
Curt Hodges
Noyl Houston
John Huff
Willie Hurst
Tom Johnson
Buddy Johnston

Chase Kagen
John King
Mark Leslie

Danny Liles
Jon Lorch
Brian Maddox
Scott Mason
Taylor Mason
Mac McAlister
Tim McNatt
Kyle Medlin
Kelly Mills
George Nichols
Chris Pagan
Allan Pemberton
Brian Priddy

Michael Propst
Brett Provost
Richard Rothwell
Dave Russell
Ronny Russell
Kevin Rutherford
John Shatzer
Ron Smith
Lee Spears
Brandon Stracener
Tim Thrasher
Jim Tubbs
George Vickers
JH Williams
Kirk Williamson
BJ Zipfel

If you have any questions, please contact the church at 870-935-1950 or email